Wednesday, December 30, 2015

The Lies We Tell by Meg Carter

The Lies We Tell

Book synopsis(via Goodreads):


Can we ever escape our past?

The last time Katy saw Jude was on a school trip, when Jude was attacked by a stranger and Katy ran away. Twenty years later, Jude is back, and her reappearance coincides with a series of unsettling incidents: a stranger appears in the downstairs flat; one night Katy’s house is vandalised; her mother is mugged and her home ransacked. And Jude seems to know an uncomfortable amount about Katy’s current life...


For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, THE LIES WE TELL is an addictive, complex and completely gripping psychological thriller in which present and past intertwine to devastating effect. Forced to revisit the same rocky waters of friendship and power they inhabited when they were fifteen, as the story reaches its explosive climax, Jude and Katy realise that when it comes to memory, truth and family – nothing and no-one are what they seem.

***Many thanks to Net Galley and Canelo for the advanced reader's copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. ***

This insomniac's opinion: 


Slow moving to start, but picked up the pace rapidly about a third of the way in. While riveting in many ways, there were too many holes in the story for it to be a completely believable and satisfying ending. The characters were in many ways one-dimensional and the meandering story couldn't hold my attention for long. 

Rating: 3 stars


Worth staying up all night to read?


Probably not. Best to read it in stops and starts. 






                                                                                   

No comments:

Post a Comment